Learning Log – Mini Composition

My 3 Anecdotes:

  1. When I was very small I had swimming lessons and my teacher forced my under the water even though I was scared. I inhaled a lot of water and I still can’t put my head under water without holding my nose.
  2. When I was a drum major, I had a teacher who was not very respectable and she couldn’t teach me how to throw a double toss. One day during a joint performance with another band a different teacher taught me how to do a double in 2 minutes during a break.
  3. My high school band teacher pulled me into his office and for 40 minutes told me I would never succeed if I didn’t go to school regularly and that I would fail at everything. It made me cry and he was way over the top and out of line.

 

A link to my collage: https://docs.google.com/drawings/d/1wDfsusss5iTLjxmb7V2L-Y6bVZabCfItIn7PuKEi95c/edit?usp=sharing

How I composed my composition:

I wanted to use French horn mini in my composition because it is linked to my identity as a student and a teacher. It sounded really awful so I created a sound to mimic it. I used midi string section mixed with midi vocals on “ooh”. The vocal sounds were mixed quieter and I added delay to it as well which sounded good. I also played with the velocity of each note, so that it got louder as it went on. It sounded less computerized when I did this. The notes included in the composition are a Perfect 4th and 5th. I used this to represent clear communication I want to have with my students as a teacher. Underneath the main melody, I used a reverb-heavy synth sound on a C# which is a dissonant note compared to the melody. I did this to represent the fear or sadness I felt when interacting with teachers who overstepped boundaries and to remind myself not to do that with my own students. I then added a pan on it so create audio interest on to it.

 

 

Leave a comment